A Very Filling Breakfast.

12 Jul

So glad to hear you all enjoyed your weekend! If you’re playing catch-up from the weekend:

I must share with you a new treat I found at Trader Joe’s yesterday: Protein Power Banana Chocolate Chunk Muffins. Yes, yes, yes.

(Side note: it may seem like I’m rather obsessed with protein. I assure you, it’s just a coincidence!)

Anyway, these muffins are amazing. They are very dense and only about half the height of a regular muffin. Each muffin packs 2g of fiber and 7g protein. And for only $1.99 for 6 – it’s a steal!

While in bed last night, trying to fall asleep (that’s a whole other topic for a another post!) I was thinking of ways to incorporate these little treasures in my breakfast. Alas, I had an idea!

What’s that I see? Oatmeal? And a cut-up muffin on top? Oh, yes. And it was absolutely delicious! So delicious and filling that I didn’t even need nut butter. Crazy, I know.

Ok, friends. I have a lot of work to do. I need to prep for my phone interview tomorrow (whee!), head to the gym for Body Pump, scour the internet for new job postings and just enjoy this beautiful Monday. Well, I should say stormy Monday…it looks like it might rain!

Tell me, what did you have for breakfast? Any new concoctions to share?!

23 Responses to “A Very Filling Breakfast.”

  1. Heather (Where's the Beach) July 12, 2010 at 10:19 AM #

    My breakfast was pretty typical: oatmeal with protein powder, banana, strawberries and peanut butter. Of course, no complaints!

  2. Katie @ Health for the Whole Self July 12, 2010 at 10:41 AM #

    This morning I tried a new concoction – plain Greek yogurt mixed with unsweetened applesauce. It wasn’t bad!

  3. allison July 12, 2010 at 10:46 AM #

    oh. YUM. jesus it’s too hot for oatmeal, but i NEED that muffin

    • Courtney @ Three Months July 12, 2010 at 11:02 AM #

      Haha, I know – I think a lot of people give me the side-eye because I eat oatmeal in the summer. In my defense, I’m freezing when I wake up, so I just pretend it’s winter! 😉

  4. Katie @ Healthy Heddleston July 12, 2010 at 11:21 AM #

    My breakfast wasn’t anything new… I Better ‘n’ Peanut and homemade grape jam on Food for Life’s GF English Muffins. I had a side of chocolate milk too 🙂

  5. angela1508 July 12, 2010 at 11:38 AM #

    i too am a bit of a protein nut haha! good luck with the phone interview, i’m sure you’ll rock it! for breakfast this morning i had an omelette and a choco-banana protein shake.. ’twas yummmy!

  6. Erin 'Ed' Donahue July 12, 2010 at 12:35 PM #

    I’m a sucker for smoothies in the summer! I use almond milk and a tablespoon of almond butter to give it some staying power so I’m not just eating fruit which will make me hungry again in an hour.

    Good luck on your interview!

  7. Kara @ MyWellnest July 12, 2010 at 12:41 PM #

    6 muffins for $1.99, what a great deal!
    I had such a random breakfast of pretzels…..followed by raspberries. We need to grocery shop, haha!

  8. Frugal 'n' Fit! July 12, 2010 at 2:49 PM #

    Without the world of food blogs, I would never think to put a cut-up muffin on a bowl of oats. Ingenious! 🙂

  9. Autumn @ Good Eats Girl July 12, 2010 at 3:53 PM #

    This looks awesome! What a great combo!

  10. Fit Chick in the City July 12, 2010 at 4:46 PM #

    Those muffins sound so good! I had overnight oats soaked in chocolate almond milk. I added peanut butter and 1/2 a frozen banana to the mix before eating.

  11. leashieloo July 12, 2010 at 5:32 PM #

    Do you hear that??? That is the sound of my tires screeching as I peal away to get those muffins from TJs. And I love the thought of them adorning oatmeal, I MUST try this.

  12. Kelly July 12, 2010 at 7:48 PM #

    I actually was in a hurry this morning and had to go for instant oatmeal. I tried a new brand called Oatheads…it was REALLY good!!! We don’t have a TJ’s here…cry cry cry!

    • Courtney @ Three Months July 12, 2010 at 8:38 PM #

      If you need a TJ’s fix – let me know! I’d be happy to send goodies your way! 🙂

  13. Eunice @ Food4Fit July 12, 2010 at 8:08 PM #

    Breakfast is probably my most boring meal of the day. Most days are a protein shake and an English muffin. Simple, but it works. I would really like one of those banana, chocolate muffins though!

  14. Emily July 12, 2010 at 8:59 PM #

    Phone interview?! eek! Good luck!!

    That breakfast combo looks delicious. I love trying new things for breakfast!

  15. lisaou11 July 13, 2010 at 9:43 AM #

    I’m staying at a hotel and they had the cutest belgium waffle thing there–so i had a carbilicous breakfast of waffles and cheerios!

  16. arsenalfamily July 13, 2010 at 1:08 PM #

    It’s funny that you mentioned protein because this is my first time to your blog and my first thought was “Yowza, this gal likes PROTEIN!” and then your wrote that and I felt slightly guilty! Looks yummy though!

  17. Lisa @ Early Morning Run July 13, 2010 at 9:03 PM #

    Sounds interesting. I’ll have to check out these muffins at TJ’s tomorrow.

    I usually have a big ‘ol greek yogurt mess but today, even in the heat, I had oatmeal! It’s just so filling.

  18. Kathryn July 13, 2010 at 9:59 PM #

    My breakfast for the past 2+ months: Quaker High Fiber Oatmeal (yes it is instant), a heaping spoonful of LF cottage cheese and a small scoop of golden raisins. It is sooooo delicious. No complaints 60 days in 🙂

    BTW I love your blog. My best friend and I just started a new food blog called Foodies Not Fatties! We would love for you to check it out. Do you have any tips or suggestions that you wish someone had told you when you first started blogging?

  19. Heather (Life, Gluten Free) July 14, 2010 at 7:38 PM #

    We like veggie/fruit smoothies with hemp seeds for added protein!

Leave a Reply

