Peanut Butter M&M’s Cookie Bars

6 Jul

Friends, I’m sorry I teased so many of you this morning by posting a picture of a yummy treat and not the recipe! Secretly, it was my way of getting you back here to Three Months! ๐Ÿ˜‰

As I mentioned earlier today, I made Peanut Butter M&M’s Cookie Bars for a church BBQ and for a friend’s 4th of July party this past weekend.

My initial plan was to find red, white & blue M&M’s for a festive look. Unfortunately, I could not find them! Seriously, M&M’s celebrates every other holiday. I was rather upset, but these obviously still turned out to be delicious!

Into the oven they go!


I found a recipe for peanut butter chocolate chip cookie bars, and with a few adjustments, I present to you the recipe! ๐Ÿ™‚

The finished product!

Peanut Butter M&M’s Cookie Bars

Adapted from: Apple A Day – Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookie Bars

Ingredients:

2 c. all-purpose flour
1/2 tsp. coarse salt
1/2 tsp. ground cinnamon
2 tsp. baking powder
12 TBSP unsalted butter (slightly softened)
1 c. smooth peanut butter
3/4 c. sugar
1/2 c. light brown sugar, packed
4 eggs
2 tsp. vanilla
2 c. M&M’s (+ more to sprinkle on top)

Directions:

1.ย  Preheat oven to 350. Lightly grease a 9×13 pan.ย  Alternately, line the pan with parchment or foil and spray with cooking spray.ย  (Recipe can also be halved and baked in an 8×8.)

2.ย  Whisk together the flour, salt, cinnamon & baking powder. Set aside.

3.ย  Cream the butter and peanut butter together until smooth. Beat in the sugars until combined.

4.ย  Add the eggs, one at a time, scraping down the bowl after each addition. Stir in the vanilla.

5.ย  Mix in the flour mixture. Once mostly combined, add the M&M’s and stir until combined.

6. Spread batter into prepared pan. Sprinkle desired amount of M&M’s on top. Bake for 40-45 minutes (for an 8×8 pan, bake for 30-32 minutes). Cool completely before cutting.

7 Responses to “Peanut Butter M&M’s Cookie Bars”

  1. Kelly July 6, 2010 at 6:55 PM #

    Oh my…HECK YES!!!! Thanks for posting!!! I am copying this down ASAP!

  2. lindsay July 6, 2010 at 6:58 PM #

    YUM!!!!

  3. Katherine: What About Summer? July 6, 2010 at 7:40 PM #

    I love the colors that the M&Ms add. It’s like funfetti cake but better! Great recipe

  4. Autumn @ Good Eats Girl July 6, 2010 at 8:25 PM #

    Thank you, thank you, thank you!!! I was going to email you for this recipe later! ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. lisaou11 July 6, 2010 at 9:50 PM #

    mmmmm yes!

  6. leashieloo July 8, 2010 at 11:20 AM #

    Oh snap, I must have this!

  7. Meg July 11, 2010 at 2:35 PM #

    Oh my goodness these look DELICIOUS! And colorful ๐Ÿ˜€

Leave a Reply

