Online Job Search Tips

28 Jun

I’m only 4 weeks into this job search, and I have to be honest with you…I’m getting a little impatient. I know that this process is a long one, but it gets frustrating after a certain point.

I spend every afternoon searching for jobs online. I want to keep up on this and make sure I don’t miss a great opportunity. I have to remind myself that I’m not the only person looking for a job – it helps to put things in perspective (but it is also the hard part because SO many people are looking for jobs and applying to the same ones as me – more competition!). Don’t even get me started on the fact that I’m living in Maryland and having to search for a job in California. Ugh, tough life.

Anyway, I came across these tips from Indeed.com – a great online job search engine. Here are their 10 job search tips:

1. Choose job sites carefully

2. Refine your job search

3. Set up email job alerts

4. Keep it focused

5. Watch out for scam job listings

6. Write a customized cover letter

7. Post your resume

8. Clean up your act

9. Do your research

10. Know your salary


Click here to learn more about each tip.

I hope you can find these tips useful if you’re currently searching for a job. Please send any good job vibes my way – I’d really appreciate it!

Are you currently job hunting?

If you have a job, how long have you been at your current job?

3 Responses to “Online Job Search Tips”

  1. Heather (Where's the Beach) June 28, 2010 at 2:10 PM #

    I can’t imagine trying to find a job across the country. It’s hard enough to know where and how to search in your own city. Thankfully, I do have a job. I’ve been here 2 years and was at my previous job for 8.5 years.

  2. Lisa June 30, 2010 at 9:40 AM #

    It is good to know that I am not alone in the job search. Good luck!

  3. Pest Repeller November 17, 2010 at 4:01 PM #

    online jobs are many but most of them does not pay well enough so choose an online job well ,”~

Leave a Reply

