Oatmeal Completes Me.

28 Jun

Good morning!

I hope everyone had a wonderful weekend! What did you do?!

If you’re catching up from the weekend, check out these posts:Ā  my review of Body Step and find out the best time to grocery shop.


My morning has been pretty low-key thus far. It took me a few snooze buttons to finally get out of bed – but luckily, I had my husband waiting for me in the kitchen with a nice cup of joe. That was all the motivation I needed, folks.

So as you know, I’m unemployed. Pretty cool, huh?! šŸ˜‰ I’ve mentioned this before, but I get up every morning with my husband to enjoy coffee with him. I think it’s important to stick to a routine, even though I have no specific commitments throughout the day. There is no reason to sleep the day away – things need to get done. Like find a job, work out and do laundry (which by the way, a load is already in the dryer!).

But, friends, I digress. Let me get to the point of this post. Oatmeal completes me. Nothing keeps me fuller longer than a great bowl of oats.

Oatmeal and Almond Buttah

Into the mix:

-half a banana mashed

-1/4 cup of old-fashioned oats

-1/2 cup water

-cinnamon

-tablespoon of almond butter (my fave)


It’s absolutely delicious and completely satisfying. I know a lot of bloggers find it hard to have hot oats in the summer months. Me? I find them too delicious to give up for summer!

What’s your favorite satisfying breakfast?

8 Responses to “Oatmeal Completes Me.”

  1. Heather (Where's the Beach) June 28, 2010 at 8:32 AM #

    I love bananas and PB in my oatmeal. I typically don’t smash them though – just chop them up. Another fave is blueberries and a heap of cinnamon. YUM.

  2. land animal June 28, 2010 at 8:59 AM #

    There’s definitely a lot of love for oatmeal happening around the blogosphere. And I do like the stuff, but I just don’t eat it in the AM. I’m a green smoothie in the morning kind of girl šŸ™‚

  3. angela1508 June 28, 2010 at 9:39 AM #

    I LOVE oatmeal too, but in the summer when it’s hot I like to switch from regular oatmeal to overnight oats (a recently discovered obsession!) I also have an addiction to veggie omelettes made with egg whites and loads of diced veg, but I’m trying to break that habit. Your oats look great! Good luck with the job search, I hear ya on that one!! šŸ™‚

  4. Autumn @ Good Eats Girl June 28, 2010 at 9:55 AM #

    Good luck with the job search!

    I’m a fruit and a cup of coffee in the morning kind of girl! Or a smoothie or muffin! Your oats look great!

  5. nottooshabbygabby June 28, 2010 at 9:58 AM #

    Hi Courtney! I’m new to all this and I just started following your blog and the first thing that caught my eye is that you’re moving to California in the fall in hope of finding a job…me too! It’s such an exciting trip to plan! How’s your job and apartment hunt going?
    Keep me posted!

  6. LiveForTheRun June 28, 2010 at 11:13 AM #

    Your oats look remarkably similar to mine:) I love adding in any seasonal fruit. Almonds, coconut flakes, you can make up 100K different tasty kinds of oatmeal. I do know I will never go back to packaged oats.

  7. Renata June 28, 2010 at 1:30 PM #

    I think you might like om of the day šŸ™‚

    Almond butter is awesome by the way…thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

