Review: Body Step

26 Jun

Well Happy Saturday to you!

I pumped some iron this morning at Body Pump and because I was already at the gym, I decided to try Body Step. Note to self: cardio after Body Pump is freakin’ difficult.

Just like spinning, I had no idea what to expect. I mean, sure, I knew I’d be dancing around on a riser. But other than that? Yeah, not a clue.

Body Step put up a fight against me. And won.

I like to think I’m a coordinated person. Doesn’t everyone?! For one reason or another (remember, I had just gotten done with Body Pump…ok, that’s just a lame excuse), I could NOT keep up.

In Body Step, you mirror the instructor. I’m so not used to that! Obviously, this is a personal issue, but I learn best by moving the same arm/leg as the person teaching me. Example: instructor steps with left foot, I step with left foot. I don’t care if it looks opposite. So this whole mirror thing completely confused me!

The movements were fast and I was dripping in sweat within 10 minutes! My face got red, and my legs were shaking!

The songs that we stepped (?) to were very energizing, so I enjoyed that aspect. I definitely got a great cardio workout and I think I had fun. I’m not sure…

I’m just not convinced Body Step is for me. Which is a-ok. I don’t have to like every form of exercise I try – and neither do you! I do think it’s important to try new things because that’s how you discover your favorite (and least favorite) workouts.

So I’m glad I tried Body Step – now I know I’m not as coordinated as I once thought! 😉

Have you tried Body Step?

Do you consider yourself a coordinated person?!

5 Responses to “Review: Body Step”

  1. Anna June 26, 2010 at 12:00 PM #

    Oh my gosh, step classes frustrate me to no end because I am the least coordinated person EVER! I stick to other classes now 🙂

  2. angela1508 June 26, 2010 at 12:57 PM #

    Sounds like a typical Body Step experience to me! I teach RPM, which is the spin class under the same brand name (Les Mills) as Body Step, and I often do Body Step in order to do peer evaluations on other instructors. The first time I did it, I felt like SUCH a moron! Trust me, just do a few more and you will be fine. I am certainly NOT coordinated and if I can do it, you can too!

    As far as the whole mirroring thing, I think that depends on the club. Here, there are mirrors at the front of the studio, but there is a big wooden panel on the wall on the stage behind the instructor. Because of this, they HAVE to teach facing you. Apparently, there was a study done that found that people get greater workout benefits when they’re not looking at themselves in a mirror. Since removing all the mirrors in the studio would be a little over the top, (and in my opinion, they can be useful for checking form), our clubs still have them, but the part behind the instructor’s stage is paneled.

    Enjoy the rest of your weekend! 🙂

    • Courtney @ Three Months June 26, 2010 at 7:23 PM #

      Anna: I’ll be sticking to other workouts like you!
      Angela: thank you for that info! Glad I have a professional to give me the inside scoop! 🙂

  3. Kelly June 27, 2010 at 9:49 AM #

    I actually had to walk out of body step because I kept getting so lost. Step is just not for me…I am definitely not coordinated enough for it! haha!

  4. Les Mills DVD January 13, 2015 at 9:10 AM #

    Hi there! I could have sworn I’ve visited this web site before but after going through a few
    of the posts I realized it’s new to me. Anyhow, I’m definitely happy I found it and I’ll be book-marking it
    and checking back regularly!

Leave a Reply

