I like to move it, move it.

25 Jun

Good morning (and happy Friday to you!). 🙂

The gym was fab.u.lous last night. I’m very glad the husband joined me. I plopped my tush on a stationary bike and caught up on the latest exercise news via Fitness Magazine. Doesn’t reading a magazine make time fly? I finished off my workout with a little elliptical action. It was a great low-impact day!


I thought I’d tell you a little bit more about my situation in regards to employment. I graduated college at the worst possible time in modern history: May 2009. Hello, sucky job market. To top it off, I said goodbye to the only home I knew (Nebraska) and moved to a city that I had never been to before: Baltimore. I spent last summer searching for a job – not knowing ANYTHING about the city. It was tough.frustrating.discouraging. You name it.


After a solid two months of searching, I was offered a position as Account Executive with a magazine. Working for a magazine had its glamorous perks, but I was also selling advertisements. Tough break, huh?


After seven months with the magazine, I just couldn’t do it any longer. It was stressful. It was emotionally draining. I was not happy. I LOVED the people I worked with and the mission of the magazine, but it was in February 2010 that I found out I’d soon be moving to California. Knowing my time was coming to an end in Baltimore, I decided to quit my full-time job and start an internship with a nonprofit organization. Best decision I have ever made.


My husband and I left Baltimore at the beginning of June (see details here). So we’re in a D.C. suburb now, and I’m searching for a job in California. Yes, our location seems to be unstable – I mean really, who moves 3 times in 15 months?! Well, we do. My husband has worked hard for the great opportunities that have been presented to him and I couldn’t be more proud of him. I know that we’ll eventually settle down, so I’m not worried. But as you can see, holding a steady job has been quite the challenge.


I know we’re meant to live in California, so I am excited to move in the fall. I know, deep (deep) down, that everything will work out.


QUESTION:

Have you ever moved to a new city?! Were you happy with the change?

2 Responses to “I like to move it, move it.”

  1. angela1508 June 25, 2010 at 7:19 PM #

    Hi Courtney!
    Love your blog too! It sounds like we have a ton in common – I’m about to enter the job market since I graduate in August. I’m in marketing and unfortunately it doesn’t look like there’s a whole lot of hiring going on where I am either! I grew up in Alberta, moved to the middle east, then moved back here to Ontario. I love where I live right now, but I’m trying to accept the fact that I might be moving come September! If I could get a job in California I’d SO be all over it – it sounds like such an awesome place! I’m looking forward to hearing your stories! 🙂
    Angela

    • Courtney @ Three Months June 25, 2010 at 9:11 PM #

      Hey, Angela! I’m glad you like the blog! Hopefully I’ll be able to track my progress with my job hunt and exercises. The job market is super frustrating, but I know that eventually everything will work out! I’m excited to move to Cali – less than three months away now!

Leave a Reply

