Oat Bars

24 Jun

I absolutely love to be in the kitchen. Baking is most definitely a favorite hobby of mine. This past winter, I declared Sundays as “Bakedays” and would whip up a decadent dessert for the week. It didn’t matter if it was cookies, brownies or cupcakes – I had to make something.

I don’t believe diets. I believe in moderation. But because I bake so often, I’ve learned to rotate in some semi-healthy (or I should say, not completely unhealthy), treats. This Oat Bar is not necessarily good for you (although it has some great ingredients like flax and oats), but it’s definitely better for you than some desserts out there! I don’t have any whole wheat flour (on the list for Sunday’s grocery trip!), but I imagine it would work quite well.


I was inspired by this recipe at All Recipes – with a few minor tweaks, I present to you: Oat Bars!


Ingredients:

1/4 cup butter, softened
1/2 cup packed brown sugar
1 tablespoon ground flax
3 tablespoons water
1-1/4 cups uncooked rolled oats
1/2 cup all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 tablespoons applesauce
1/4 cup chopped walnuts


Directions:
Preheat oven to 350°. Line an 8″ square baking pan with foil – coat with nonstick spray.

In a medium bowl, cream the butter and brown sugar. In a small dish, combine the ground flax and water. Whisk with a fork – set aside to thicken. While the flax mixture is thickening, add the oats, flour, cinnamon and vanilla to the butter and sugar. Begin to mix together and pour in the flax mixture. When combined, stir in the applesauce and walnuts.

Pour mixture into baking pan. Flatten with the back of a spoon and shape into a circle. It should resemble a breakfast cookie at this point!

Bake for 20 minutes. Remove and let cool in pan. Cut into 8 wedges.

2 Responses to “Oat Bars”

  1. Courtney @ Sweet Tooth, Sweet Life June 24, 2010 at 7:12 PM #

    YUM! That looks and sounds so yummy!!

    • Courtney June 25, 2010 at 2:00 AM #

      You should definitely try them! My tip: try them warm with ice cream (or soy ice cream!).

Leave a Reply

