Review: Spinning Class

23 Jun

Yesterday I did something new. Spinning. Friends, I have a new love.

I was very nervous before this class, as I honestly had no idea what to expect. With a little searching via Google, I was able to find some tips/insight as to what a normal spinning class looks like. Thank goodness I did that – I would have worn running shorts. And running shorts + spinning = major chafing. Um, no thanks to that!

So I showed up to class a little early to reserve my bike per various suggestions. Another woman was setting hers up, so I went ahead and asked her for help. She was more than willing to offer advice! I really appreciated it, and that helped calm my nerves.

In no time the instructor showed up, and we were off! Cycling to popular jams, sweating like there was no tomorrow. Not only did we change the resistance of the bikes, we also did various “moves,” such as sprinting, jumping, half-jumping and climbing. I had no idea how much my core would be worked and was pleasantly surprised!

I’ll definitely be hitting up another spinning class (it’s on the schedule for tomorrow actually!). I’m not the biggest fan of running (check out The Fitnessista’s break up letter with running), so for me spinning is a great alternative.

Oh, and after the 60 minute class was over? Yeah, I went straight to a 60 minute pilates class. Sometimes I just have to laugh at myself.

2 Responses to “Review: Spinning Class”

  1. Hillary [Nutrition Nut on the Run] June 23, 2010 at 8:51 PM #

    I loveee spinning! Running shorts + biking are def a “no no”. Glad you had fun!

    • Courtney June 23, 2010 at 8:54 PM #

      It’s true! Now I’m on the hunt for more bottoms to wear for spinning and pilates classes!

Leave a Reply

