Review: Aria Protein

9 Jul
Disclaimer: The views expressed are my own. I paid for this protein powder and was not compensated in any form for this review.

I’ve been on the lookout for a decent tasting protein powder for quite some time now. I’ve tried the chocolate kind from GNC…blech. I’ve also tried Whey Protein Powder in chocolate from Trader Joe’s. Also not a fan. I wanted so badly to find a protein powder that didn’t taste like, well, crap. Excuse my highly sophisticated vocabulary. ;)

You see, I recently bought a 3-month gym membership and have taken a liking to Body Pump. For muscle recovery reasons, I have become more aware of my protein-lacking diet.

Sure I eat cheese and greek yogurt (which by the way, is a great source of protein!). I have chicken about twice a week, so that’s good. But I know I could be doing better.

While in Trader Joe’s the other day, I noticed Aria Protein, an all-natural women’s protein. It’s from the makers of Designer Whey, which I’ve heard a lot about through various blogs.

Aria

I was intrigued that this protein was specifically designed for women, so I thought, “what the heck?” and grabbed the vanilla container.

I very excited to try it and after rushing home from Body Pump yesterday, I made myself a fabulous smoothie. It contained: skim milk (out of almond!), plain greek yogurt, strawberries, 1/2 frozen banana and 1 scoop of Aria.

Note: the serving size is 2 scoops – but I wanted to ease into the taste.

Friends, I have found my protein! I am very happy with the flavor, the nutritional stats and the benefits of Aria. The price isn’t too terrible either: $9.99. There are 17 servings per container, and I’ll probably only use half a serving at a time, so this will last a while!

———-

Here are the facts:

80 calories/serving

14g protein/serving

Excellent source of folic acid (100% DV) & calcium (28% DV)/serving

50/50 Whey & Soy blend

All-Natural

———-

I know many people have a protein powder that they enjoy, but if you’re still searching I suggest you try Aria Protein!

Do you use a protein powder? If so, what’s your favorite?!

15 Responses to “Review: Aria Protein”

  1. Kelly July 9, 2010 at 5:03 PM #

    AWESOME FOR YOU! We don’t have a TJ’s so I wonder if Whole Foods sells it or if this a Trader Joe’s only product.

    • Sondra October 21, 2012 at 8:36 PM #

      You can order it online from vitamins.com for 10.00. I have used it for the last year to replace my breakfast and lunch meals. I love it! I mix it with brothers brand smoothies different varieties, berry is my favorite. You can find the smoothie drinks at walmart

  2. angela1508 July 9, 2010 at 7:11 PM #

    I like to keep quite a few different protein powders on tap because I get bored easily! I actually purchased a new one today which I plan to test out tonight – I’ll post a review tomorrow! Some of my favourite brands are Whey Gourmet (peanut butter chocolate cup) and BSN Syntha6 (caramel latte). The BSN one is a slow-release protein, so it takes longer for the body to digest and keeps me feeling full for longer (I did a review on it a while ago… http://bit.ly/bung6M). $9.99 is an awesome deal for protein! Good find! :)

  3. littlemisspotato July 10, 2010 at 11:48 PM #

    I just may have to look into trying it!

  4. glutenfreemuse July 11, 2010 at 1:28 AM #

    I really like rice protein powder and egg white protein powder :-) I also use soy and whey, but I feel that the ones mentioned above are a little lighter and easier to use in a variety of food items :-)

    ~Alyssa

  5. Alycia @ Fit n Fresh July 11, 2010 at 2:15 PM #

    I haven’t seen Aria, I’ll have to look for it next time I’m at TJ’s! I’ve used GNC before, right now I’ve got some Designer Whey French Vanilla which is acutally pretty good. I really want to try Sun Warrior – but it’s just so expensive for my tiny college-kit budget lol

  6. Meg July 11, 2010 at 2:33 PM #

    I buy Aria at Trader Joe’s! I love the smoothness of it :D

    Jillian Michaels whey protein is good too, as well as Biochem! I love their flavors!

  7. Lindsay July 11, 2010 at 3:58 PM #

    I don’t use protein powder, but I would like to use this! I especially like that it’s “controlled-glycemic” (I saw that written on the container). Sounds healthy. :)

  8. lisaou11 July 11, 2010 at 11:16 PM #

    ooo thanks for the review! I LOVE protein powder reviews…simply b/c pp is so expensive, you want to hear about it before shelling out the money for something you won’t like!

    I really like JAy Robb protein powder.

  9. atastelife July 12, 2010 at 4:29 PM #

    That’s my fav protein powder, too. And I only use one scoop in my green monsters in the morning – I had to try a new brand this week since I ran out and I have to drive a little ways to TJs, and it’s just not the same. Can’t wait to have the Aria back in my life.

  10. an idiot abroad December 20, 2010 at 4:15 AM #

    This blog is merely superb, I assumed I do know a whole lot, but I’m so mistaken, like the previous saying the a lot more you already know, the added you discover out how little you know. Thanks for the info.

  11. Tanya Michelle April 26, 2012 at 3:27 PM #

    Love this stuff!! I’ve been taking Aria for nearly 5 years!

  12. Mariann June 1, 2013 at 8:28 AM #

    Thank you for the review to Aria. I started with a trainner and decided to start taking proteins. I checked in the internet proteins for woman and gave a list of 5 name. So, I picked Aria bcs has folic acid, soy beans, and not sugar. I placed my orden in Amazon $9.75 FREE SHIPPING… Yeahh :)
    I’m very healthy but Im 53 but look as 34… Lucky me :) BUT I have to take a good care of my health and what I take… Bcs Im not young :)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. I Heart Weekends. « three months - July 11, 2010

    [...] Jul You guys, I LOVED hearing what brand/type of protein powder y’all are using! I trust you and your protein powder tastes, so I’ll definitely check out the ones you guys [...]

  2. A Very Filling Breakfast. « three months - July 12, 2010

    [...] I found a protein powder that tastes delicious! [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

